Winsford village, Somerset
Winsford is a village and civil parish located about 5 miles northwest of Dulverton. It is within the borders of the Exmoor National Park and around 10 miles southwest of the coastal town of Minehead. The village has two hotels, Karslake House Hotel and the Royal Oak, both dating to before the start of the 16th century, and one shop and post office. There is also a tea garden and a service station, which does not serve fuel for motor vehicles. To the east of the village is the hamlet of West Howetown.
Winsford Hill is the location of the Wambarrows, a number of bronze age burial sites, and Road Castle - an Iron Age bank and ditch approximately 2 miles west from the village. The ditch is almost square in plan with rounded corners and covers an area of approximately 0.7 acres.
The Caratacus Stone, a standing stone believed to have been erected by pagan inhabitants of the village, possibly as a religious memorial, bearing the inscription CARAACI NEPUS (kinsman of Caratacus) possibly from the 5th century and first documented in 1219.
The village appears in the Domesday Book of 1085, which lists the presence of 34 smallholders, 41 villagers, 52 sheep and 9 slaves, the whole area being capable of supporting 64 ploughs, despite 40 acres of it being woodland. The parish of Winsford was part of the Williton and Freemanners Hundred.
Stay at a nearby Holiday Park and keep the kids amused all day! Parks in the vicinity include those at:
Plenty of hotels are available locally. Consider those in the local towns:
There's plenty more to explore in this area, too! Find more attractions and things to do nearby: