Templecombe village, Somerset
Templecombe is a village situated on the A357 road five miles south of Wincanton, twelve miles east of Yeovil, and 30 miles west of Salisbury. The village had a population of 1,506 in 2002. Along with the hamlet of Combe Throop it forms the parish of Abbas and Templecombe.
One part of the village was known as Abbas Combe which was recorded in the Domesday Book of 1086-7 as Cumbe, when it was held by the church of St Edward, Shaftesbury. The other manor within the parish was held by Earl Leofwine but after the Norman Conquest was given to Bishop Odo of Bayeux. It was his descendant Serlo FitzOdo who granted it to the Knights Templar. The parish was part of the hundred of Horethorne.
Templecombe derives its name from 'Combe Templariorum', after the Knights Templar who established Templecombe Preceptory in the village in 1185. After they were suppressed in 1312 it was granted to the Knights of St John who held it until the dissolution of the monasteries. An attempt to discover 'the village of the templars' was made by the Time Team television programme.
The Manor House in the high street was built in the 17th century on the site of a medieval building. The 1st Earl of Cork, Richard Boyle bought Temple Coombe Manor in 1637 for £20,000. The Earl already owned Stalbridge Manor in Dorset close by. The Earl of Cork also purchased Annery House near Bideford in 1640 for £5000.
Stay at a nearby Holiday Park and keep the kids amused all day! Parks in the vicinity include those at:
Plenty of hotels are available locally. Consider those in the local towns: