Mells village, Somerset
Mells is a village and civil parish near the town of Frome
The parish includes the village of Vobster which had a coal mine of the same name on the Somerset coalfield and a quarry, both of which are now disused. The old quarry is now used as a diving centre. The Church of St Edmund, at Vobster by Benjamin Ferrey, dates from 1846 and is a Grade II listed building. Vobster Inn Bridge, which carries the lane over the Mells River, is dated 1764, and is Grade II listed.
In the Domesday Book of 1086 the village was known as 'Mulne' meaning several mills. The parish was part of the hundred of Frome.
Around 1500 Mells seems to have been known as Iron Burgh, as a result of the iron ore extracted in the area.
During the 19th and early 20th centuries Mells and surrounding villages had several coal mines on the Somerset coalfield, much of which may have supplied the iron works of James Fussell. The Old Ironstone Works is a biological Site of Special Scientific Interest due to the population of Greater and Lesser Horseshoe bats.
The nearby railway is now the route of NCR 24, the Colliers Way.
Stay at a nearby Holiday Park and keep the kids amused all day! Parks in the vicinity include those at:
Plenty of hotels are available locally. Consider those in the local towns:
There's plenty more to explore in this area, too! Find more attractions and things to do nearby: