Bishops Lydeard village, Somerset
Bishops Lydeard is a village and civil parish located in Somerset, bypassed, since 1967, by the A358 road and West Somerset Railway 5 miles northwest of Taunton in the district of Taunton Deane. The village had a population of 3,949 persons in 2002.
The hamlet of East Lydeard is less than a mile to the east of the village; west of the village is Sandhill Park, an eighteenth-century country home.
Bishops Lydeard is a railway station on the West Somerset Railway.
The name of the village probably relates to Gisa, Bishop of Wells, who was one of the principal episcopal landowners of Somerset at the time of the Domesday Book in 1086. Lydeard is a compound of two Saxon personal names Lide (Lloyd) and Geard, the latter remaining as a local name, "Yarde". As well as a personal name, geard means 'a fence, enclosure, courtyard or dwelling'. The parish of Bishops Lydeard was part of the Kilmersdon Hundred.
Stay at a nearby Holiday Park and keep the kids amused all day! Parks in the vicinity include those at:
Plenty of hotels are available locally. Consider those in the local towns:
There's plenty more to explore in this area, too! Find more attractions and things to do nearby: